Speedball Paintball


Ball Bat Stumps Wicket


Before the start of play on the first day, the match referee and the two team captains meet at the centre wicket for a coin-toss; the home captain will toss the coin, with the visiting captain calling it in the air. The captain who wins the toss has the privilege of choosing whether his team will bat or bowl first. On each day there are usually three two-hour sessions with a forty minute break for "lunch" and a twenty minute break for "tea." Cricket laws apply for test cricket matches.


Test Cricket is the longest form of cricket, taking as long as five days to complete a match. As the longest form of cricket, test cricket matches can last as long as five days and are meant as a test of strength and competency; it is regarded as the ultimate test of playing ability and as the highest regarded form of the game, although other formats have surpassed it in popularity. The match is played between two international teams of eleven players that have reached "test status" as determined by the International Cricket Council. There are currently only ten nations sanctioned as test cricket playing nations. On each day, play is divided into three two-hour sessions with breaks for lunch and tea.


Test cricket originated in the late 19th century with England and Australia playing in thirteen matches between 1877 and 1883; the first ever test cricket match was played on March 15, 1877 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.