Special Olympics Tennis


Ball Goals


Team handball is played on a 40-meter by 20-meter rectangular court, with a goal at each end. Teams consist of 7 players on the court, with up to 7 substitutes on the bench. Matches consist of two 30-minute periods, with a 10-minute half time. Players can advance the ball with any part of their bodies that lie above the knee. Upon receiving possession of the ball, players can remain stationary for three seconds or take three steps. They must then either shoot, pass or dribble. Goalkeepers can move freely within the goal perimeter, but cannot cross the goal perimeter line while carrying or dribbling the ball. Special throws are awarded after scored goals, off-court balls, turnovers, timeouts, etc. Penalties are called for fouls that require more punishment. These include reaching, holding, pushing, hitting or tripping. Penalties can result in suspensions and/or ejections.


Team Handball is a team sport comprised of two teams of seven (six players and a goalkeeper). The purpose is to throw the ball into the opposing goal. The team with the most goals after the two periods of thirty minutes, wins. Team handball is a fast-paced game that combines elements of basketball and soccer. Teams of 7 players attempt to score goals by advancing a ball up a rectangular court. The ball can only be moved by dribbling and passing to teammates. Goals are scored by shooting the ball past a designated goalkeeper. The team with the most goals at the end of the game is the winner.


Forms of team handball were first played in ancient Greece and Rome. These informal games were passed along through tradition, until the end of the 19th century, when the first set of rules was written. These rules were updated in 1919, and were used in the first international games. In 1946 the International Handball Federation was established to serve as the sport's governing body. Team handball was played in the 1936 Summer Olympic Games, but was removed until 1976. Today the sport is played around the world, with championships held biannually in Iceland.